Nicolaus Fest, November 10, 2021, Media Freedom

European Union Parliament, Brussels, November 10, 2021, P9 CRE-PROV (2021)11-10(1-111-0000).

Frau President. Frau Metsola. Herr Wölken.

I myself was once a journalist and had had a SLAPP [Strategic Lawsuit against Public Participation] against me – from Max Mosley, he who understands fascists. This proceeding was successfully averted. It would have cost the publisher approximately two million. That means that I know what I’m talking about.

I therefore also have much understanding for this initiative. Though the proposal is certainly well meant, it is however unfortunately poorly made, since there are too many determinations of content and references to flexible ideological terms like LGBTI, climate change or hate speech.

We know exactly what will happen: Complaints which defend excessive rights of minorities, climate hysteria or leftist identity politics against journalists will be supported. Who criticizes these, will not be. You are attempting to defend freedom of opinion. That is worthy of all respect. Yet I fear you will attain the opposite.

[trans: tem]

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started